When we see GOD

In my previous blog I have mentioned about the fans activities on seeing MGR on Silver Screen. Imagine what will have happen if they had a chance to see him in person.

I have heard many accounts about people meeting MGR, and aftermath. What most of them said on the instant of seeing him is this.

  1. When he/she sees MGR they raise their hands as a gesture of welcoming him.
  2. They forget all their problems, and also they forget where they are.
  3. Some kind of force field works on them, which makes them to move closer to MGR.
  4. The eagerness to touch him arises.
  5. And finally their happiest moment in their life.

All the above facts resemble something Godly. Most of them reading this blog could say that all the fans or followers in the World will behave like that. Okay, but what about others? Who are not his fans and they dislike MGR? What happens when they meet? As a rule the above fact should not happen right? No you are wrong the above thing happened to them also.

From my experience I came to know what all they say about MGR is true. Even who disliked him say that MGR is like this and that and when their eyes falls on MGR they turn and behave like his followers and when MGR disappears from their view they become normal and start to say that he is like this and that again.

My experience happened when I was 12 year old, 17th May 1984, Thursday the time is 7.30 p.m. unforgettable day for me the day I saw MGR in person. I was not a fan of MGR at that time. Like others of the same age were fans of Rajnikanth or Kamal and I was a fan of Kamal that time. A By election campaign was going on, MGR was then the Chief Minister, he was expected to tour the Anna Nagar constituency. The announcement came two days before that MGR will pass through Arumbakkam via Ponnamallee High Road now Periyar EVR High Road by 5 p.m. As like other I was also looking forward to see him. My home is located near the High Road and we have let out some part of the home to a Clinic and a Barber shop. The owners of both shops are staunch D.M.K. supporters. Time is running on, I was frustrated and lost interest in MGR and started to read a comic book of Phantom.

Slowly and slowly crowd was increasing on both sides of the road. Now and then I popped my head out of the door to see that MGR’s White Van coming or not. By 7.20 p.m. there was a roar and I came out to see what’s happening the white van took a right turn and went to a Lane and disappeared. Some of the people left that he won’t come back again. But most of them said that MGR never takes a prescribed route, he always changes the plan and that he was very conscious about the surroundings.

By this time two people was holding a very sick guy, entered the clinic he was wearing a Shawl and trembling to get on the stairs. As he was looking very sick he was allowed immediately to see the Doctor, while other patients wait. By 7.30 p.m. the White Van was coming again on the High Road a small light is fixed on the top, the top of the Van had an opening so that MGR’s half of the body can be seen clearly. First and final I had a glimpse of MGR, he donned in White Shirt, Fur Cap and Dark Black Glass, his skin tone is Red….. No Rose…. No kind of Gold… No all combined and shinning, I became ecstatic I was showing a victory sign and jumping, MGR looked at me and smiled, when he passed me then I watched the same ecstatic environment. The sick man now has mingled with the crowd and shouting slogans. And the Doctor who said MGR is just a “Thopithalaian” meaning a person with a cap does not know how to rule, the best administrator was his Leader Karunanidhi, was waving to MGR with a syringe in his left hand. Some of the crowd was trying to stop the van to have more glimpse of him.

The sight of MGR makes a chemical change and people act like an energized Electron. This is a true incident and I witnessed it. Can anyone tell me what force is acting when a person like MGR comes in public?

I have heard lot of stories where one gets a close encounter with MGR. In villages people who have touched MGR will not wash their hands for some days! And there are stories after the Function attended by MGR the left over in the Soda bottle used by him was regarded as a venerable thing. The left over soda was mixed with water and distributed to all! The bottle gets a new life. And there is another legendary story that during an Election MGR went to a Village. The farms they possessed turned a very low harvesting that year, and when MGR came he was asked to walk on the Farm believing his feet when touch the soil could bring them a Good Harvest. That became true the next year they had a Golden Harvest. Still now in remote villages of Tamilnadu, people believe that MGR has given Power to Jayalalitha and is resting somewhere. They don’t accept MGR’s death. These things make me feel that MGR is a Demi God for the people of Tamil Nadu.

Leave a Reply

